Sons, Never Say Never

When my eldest told me about their school’s basketball try-out, I told him me (and their Papa/my hubby) are going to be there. We will support him and his younger brother as the were both interested to try out.

But after telling him about it, he said he’s not going to do so. He’s afraid he might not get picked and we might be unhappy and mad about it. I told him how hurt I was upon hearing him say those things.

We are going as our way of showing our support. Since his father was a basketball player during his high school years, I know he can still help the boys improve in their game. I told him we are not going to get mad. If one gets picked, then it’s great. It’s something that we all should all be proud of. If one doesn’t get picked, it’s not the end of the world. Instead, one should practice more and try out next time. There’s always a next time. There’s always a new day. The important thing is, they tried out.

So, yesterday, my two sons participated in a basketball try-out. My 11 year old got picked while my 7 year old didn’t. (My youngest 6 year old was there too but he’s too young to try for now.) I felt happy that my 7 year old did not cry or feel sad. We told the both of them that they need to practice more and learn tricks. Papa will be there for them. I, on the other hand, will be there for moral and all other support.

(c) pixcooler.com

(c) pixcooler.com

To my boys, always remember, Michael Jordan, Stephen Curry, Ronda Rousey, Manny Pacquiao (or any other player), Mark Zuckerberg, Albert Einstein, Steve Jobs, Bill Gates … they didn’t just simply wake up one day and got better at what they do. It all takes practice, perseverance, pain, determination and that motto we all know of, “NEVER GIVE UP”.

Second, don’t listen to people’s doubts about you.

(c) Pinterest - Alesha Zappitella

(c) Pinterest – Alesha Zappitella

If people say, you can’t do it because you’re this and that, don’t mind them. Listen to your inner voice. If you think you can do it, then go ahead. TRY. Unless you try, you’ll never know if you can do it.

(c) statusmind.com

(c) statusmind.com

Leave a Reply

